The Griffin School Foundation, in cooperation with The Community Foundation of South Puget Sound, is proud to sponsor two scholarship programs: the Cody Brown Memorial Scholarship and the Tiernan-Keigher Scholarship.

Cody Brown Memorial Scholarship

Cody Brown was a Griffin Elementary school fifth grader when a tragic accident took his life. Cody was a energetic, friendly, dependable student, athlete, musician, and a person of great promise. This scholarship is available to former students of Griffin Elementary school and rewards those students who strive for excellence in several areas, including academics, athletics, arts, extracurricular and community activities

The 2016 recipient of the Cody Brown Scholarship Award is Riley Potkonjak. Riley has been described as reliable, hard working, focused and creative. He is someone who thinks of others and jumps in to help when others are in need. Words used to describe Riley, by the people who know him best, are inquisitive, determined, resilient, and scrappy. He puts 100% of himself into what he does which includes activities such as soccer, basketball, snowboarding and filmmaking. He is a student who empowers people, exhibits a can-do attitude, and often mentors students by his own initiative.

Riley was a Griffin School student from Kindergarten through 8th grade and a recent graduate of Capital High School. He plans to continue his education with a major towards filmmaking and cinematography at either Montana State or Western Washington University.

Tiernan-Keigher Scholarship

The Tiernan-Keigher Scholarship was made possible by a generous anonymous donation that was then matched with proceeds from our 2006 Auction. The $2500 award is given to an eighth grade student in the Griffin School District and is held in trust until the recipient is enrolled in a higher education program.
The scholarship honors two women, Annie Tiernan and Margaret Keigher, who were a positive influence to many children during their lives. These women offered support and instilled a value of education and confidence in self to those children. The scholarship committee strives to select students who show promise to continue on with their education and are compassionate citizens.

The 2016 recipient of the Tiernan-Kiegher Scholarship award is Laurin Ogg. Laurin has been described as a hard-working, independent thinker who is enthusiastic about learning. She is an accomplished and talented artist, but perhaps even more inspiring is her dedication to others. Laurin, according to one of her teachers, has a powerful sense of what is right and just, and has been seen standing up to bullying and inappropriate behaviors, even when that has meant standing up to others who are older and bigger than she is. She is shows commitment and dedication to her community through 4H and has worked to earn money to purchase a horse, a rabbit, and two chickens, all of which she helps care for. One of her teachers has described her as a spirited young country lady.

Laurin will attend Capital High School in 2017 with a long-term goal of attending college to become a veterinarian. According to Laurin, her goal of working with animals and being in the veterinary field is one that she has always had and grows more passionate about every year.

2016 Foundation Scholarship Applications 

Scholarship applications for the 2016 school year are available in the Griffin School office, Capital High School Career Center, or may be downloaded from the following links:

The Cody Brown Memorial Scholarship 2016

The Tiernan-Keigher Scholarship 2016